En chante

Hi, this is my first post, so in a sense I am losing my “blog virginity”. Let me start off with I have an undeniable appreciation for: writing, for words of any language and as an individual, I think it is important for one to be able to express themselves in the most passionate way possible.

I’m at the stage of my life where turmoil has become constant, but the biggest lesson I have learned this year is that you have two options. These options are: If it is within your power to change, then get up and do so. If there is nothing you can do, save your time and energy for another obstacle.

I’m at the stage of my life where I want people to know my story – and I will share it with you in due time, but first, I would like it to explain my reasons why.

To people that I have just met have at least one of these two reactions…shock or start crying. Crying, I would presume because of the unspoken word of hope. Or they are just really sad when they see me thus feel sorry for me, I’m never too sure.

One thing I am sure of is the reason for their abrupt shock. When I’m sitting down, no one would ever guess that I have Cerebral Palsy.

I was born at 26 weeks instead of the expected 42 (three months premature). By the time the ambulance arrived to rescue my mother and I, I had already suffered from an hour and a half of oxygen deprivation. This had the result of causing 60 percent damage of grey matter on the right hemisphere of my brain. I was in Intensive Care for 66 days, drips, oxygen tanks, a blood transfusion, the works. I was diagnosed at 10 months with Cerebral Palsy.

Back to my reasoning, when ever people find out that I obtain a physical disibility, I always hope that they have changed their perpective on things. Not just on the disabled community but rather on the idea of not living their lives with preassumptions about the world.

I’ve been lucky enough to meet -mostly- mothers of children with disabilities. See, besides the obvious downfall of a disibility being an expense and high maintenance, they are unpredictable. No case is ever the same scenario. I was lucky enough to pass for a “close as dammit” normal life and I am grateful for that. I think that family members feel relieved when thay talk to my parents and I.

I have to be honest with you. I do not see myself as “inspirational” because I have done nothing to be inspired about. But if I can give comfort for those who need it – I am more than happy to give it.

So there you go, in summary, my goal right now is to change people’s perpectives and give comfort…

To whomever read this: I will share more and hope you enjoyed reading this!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Roger Wilson says:

    This is a wonderful and exteremly well written “maiden ” entry. I’m already a fan. Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

